Just a Poem

You Were Gone

 

Your breath

was the barest whisper of a breeze,

my love.

 

As you lay dying

I could only put my hand over your heart

feel the strong beat of it

ebb away.

 

All I could do was kneel by you

even when the ambulance came

and they forced me away from you.

 

A cold clean hand

on your bloodied neck

feeling for something

that was gone.

 

Your pulse

not even a flutter left.

You were gone.

 

And then nothing but hell could keep me away from you.

I pressed my face into the hollow of your neck

above the place where your soul used to rest

and cried.

 

I cried and screamed

your name to the heavens

but no one answer.

 

You were another body

in another dark alleyway

and I was another girl in post-trauma therapy.

 

The government turned us

into nothing more

than statistics.

Why should we be treated as humans?

 

Your death

swept under the rug.

 

But I will remember you

always.

Love,

Ivy

6 thoughts on “Just a Poem

Leave a Reply

