Just a Poem

Hope

 

Hope

is the one thing we have

that lets us go on

sometimes.

 

But hope-

I hate that bitch.

 

It comes and

pretends I’ll somehow get what I ask for.

It’s a high you come down from

when your dreams are crushed.

 

Hope

is a fool.

 

It lets you believe

in love.

Believe one thing will work out

when you’re probably meant to be forever alone.

 

Hope

is so stupid.

 

I love hope

and hate it at the same time.

Hope

makes me a fool.

 

Why was hope

the only good thing in the box

when there could be so much more?

What about dreams and strength and will?

 

Hope-

don’t get me started.

Hope is a bastard magazine

that I subscribe to for months at a time.

 

Hope

just won’t leave me

alone.

 

Okay. That was more of a rant than a poem. Don’t mind me. I’m just a dumb thirteen-year-old who’s stuck as a thirteen-year-old because her fucking body is too young for her brain! Sorry.

New disclaimer: This poem is not PG. It demonstrates my forever-aloneness. As usual.

Nothing to see here!

Love,

Ivy

P.S.- If you ever read this, open your damn eyes!

4 thoughts on “Just a Poem

Leave a Reply

