Just a Poem

Inspired by my life. Sadly.

 

Stuck

 

I can tell you

that I love you

in two languages

that you won’t understand.

 

I can tell you

that I love you

without saying a word

but I don’t think

you’d understand the language of my face and body.

 

I can tell you

that I love you.

It’s three words

that I can’t seem to spit out.

 

And I know we don’t have time

I regret not telling you

at the end of every day.

 

Because if you loved me back

and I hadn’t said anything

all these months

we would have wasted so much time.

 

I can tell you that I love you

but really I can’t

because you make anything

more than a simple answer

to a simple question

dry up in my throat.

 

And I hate you

because I want to tell you

but I can’t.

 

And at the end of every day

 

You’ll never know how frustratingly adorable you are.

You’ll never know I’ve given my heart to you.

You’ll never know I want to be with you.

You’ll never know – you’re too oblivious – and my mouth can’t form three words.

 

I am the world’s biggest fucking idiot and there’s nothing I can do about it. I can’t wait to start high school because hopefully no one will no me and all of my past crushes. Until then, I’ll let out my frustration with poetry. Let’s hope that will suffice because otherwise I’ll slap him in the face, tell him, and run. And he won’t come after me. Probably. (See, there’s that stupid hope again. I hate you. I hate you very much.)

But I love you guys!

Love,

Ivy

Leave a Reply

