An Open Letter

*Note- If this offends anyone in any way I apologize. Please read it all the way through before hating me.*

To the LGBT community,

If there are any other letters representing people that I didn’t include than I am sorry I didn’t know.

As some may know, the US is currently dealing with a bathroom issue. The laws say that people who are transgender can go into the bathroom of the gender they identify with. There has been a heck of a lot of controversy about it.

I want to say that I don’t approve of these laws. But here’s why:

  • There’s is no way of knowing if that person is really transgender. It could be a random man, saying he’s transgender, but really coming to spy on girls and maybe even rape them.
  • We’re all only use the public restroom for 5-10 minutes. I think we can deal with it for such a short amount of time.
  • If you haven’t gotten your body changed, you still look like your original gender even though you truly aren’t, and girls/women will probably freak out if a guy or someone who looks like a guy comes into their bathroom.
  • I truly accept everyone (even though my religion isn’t so nice about the LGBT community I am) but the LGBT community is such a small part of the population that our public places and lawmaking systems aren’t ready to make these changes yet and maybe they won’t because of the population size (I honestly don’t know).

Now, if the world was perfect you could go into the bathroom of the gender you could identify with. It’s not you or people like me (straight people for clarity) who are ruining it for you. It’s the people who take advantage of these laws and come in and look at people changing (or peeing, I mean, where exactly is the appeal in that?) or even commit the horrendous crime of rape that are ruining it.

And that’s why I’m sorry to say that I only want girls in my bathroom.

In the area where I live, laws have been passed against people going into the bathroom of the gender they identify with. All these businesses like big basketball tournaments that bring in a lot of revenue for the area have declined to come because of these laws. And I honestly think these people need to chill for the reasons above.

Also, the bathroom stall doors in the US don’t go fully to the ceiling and ground and have cracks you can see through on either side of the door, unlike the ones in Europe. (Or at least where I’ve been in Europe). Maybe if they provided full coverage it wouldn’t matter as much but I know many people don’t want to be surprised by someone of the other gender in the bathroom. (Mostly because they’re simply not used to it).

This is just such a loaded problem with so many opinions it doesn’t have sides it has a full circle of opinions around it.

I just think/know that we all need to accept everyone and some things need to be done in order to do that. I just don’t think that bathrooms are a big enough deal to go through the hassle of spending all this money to change them that could be use to help or save people.

Thank you for letting me get this off my chest. Even though I don’t know you in real life, I appreciate you and the kind things you have to say to me. This goes for everyone- all races, religions, sexual preferences, etc. etc. Because in the end (I’m sorry if this sounds harsh) I don’t care what you look like or what you practice/do as long as what you’re doing isn’t hurting me or others or yourself.

Because we’re all human and we seem to have a fucking hard time understanding that,

Ivy

P.S.- Again if this offended you I deeply apologize it’s just my opinion and I don’t mind whether you agree with it or not.

Comment! If I made a mistake or offended someone tell me so I don’t repeat it in the future.

Gosh, it feels hard to press the publish button this is such a weighty topic. Okay, Ivy, you can do this. 3, 2, 1..

10 thoughts on “An Open Letter

  1. Yes this is a difficult topic. I don’t think the government should be trying to control these things and saying that you can only go into the bathroom of your birth certificate gender because what if someone already got the surgery done and now is of opposite gender but is still forced to go in the one that was written on their birth certificate. See the problem with that? All of it is just so complicated because many people identify as different things and what if this happens and this? And so on and so on.

    I understand everything you are trying to say and it is so good that you have decided to talk about it!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you. I think we spend so little time in public restrooms that we should just leave them alone but there are so many opinions and it’s just so complicated!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Although I don’t completely agree with your view I do see where you re coming from and think you raised some important issues. I think the ideal solution would just to have unisex bathrooms with only one toilet in each one and a lockable outside door so you take it in turn. Either way it is a difficult issue and whatever happens there will still be opposing views.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. This issue is so controversial that I don’t know what to think. But personally, I believe that trans people should be able to use the washroom they identify with.
    You said that it only takes a few minutes to use the washroom but it only takes seconds to be grabbed by someone. And a trans woman in the men’s washroom can just as easily be raped as a cis woman in the men’s washroom (and vice versa, of course).
    If this was a perfect world, there would be a washroom for every type of person (after all, you also have to realise that not everyone is straight…) but it isn’t, so the least we can do is help trans people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

