Lips Blue

Snow falling slowly

outside a window.

Thoughts running

through a tired mind.

 

What if? What if?

What if I stripped down to thin underwear

snuck out of the house at night

and laid down on the cold ground?

 

Skin burning from cold

growing numb

breath fogging over

then growing cold.

 

At first the snow melts atop my body

but then it settles right in

as my skin matches its temperature.

Maybe we’ll get enough to bury me

to freeze me?

 

A tired mind wonders

what they would do.

Would they find me

frozen?

 

Hands cold

lips blue

body still

searching for a pulse that’s no longer there?

 

And grieving minds wonder: Why?

-Ivy

6 thoughts on “Lips Blue

Leave a Reply

