Why I Walked Away

i touch your face

trace your lips with my thumb

and i wonder why they all raised my expectations so high

the tv shows the teen novels the love that doesn’t actually exist everywhere

 

they’ve ruined me

i don’t think i can have you

i don’t think i deserve you

when sometimes all i can think about is them

 

i know the perfection isn’t real

they’re just words on a page

sometimes i reach out for them

and and my fingers bump into a hollow screen

 

i can’t touch you anymore

my skin is acid

my touch is poison

i’m sorry

 

~but i don’t deserve you

7 thoughts on “Why I Walked Away

Leave a Reply

